NHL Announces Five Award Winners For 2020-21 Season

Photo: The Athletic

The NHL announced the winners for the Vezina (best goalie), Norris (best defenseman), Calder (best rookie), Ted Lindsay (MVP voted by the NHLPA), and Hart (MVP) Trophies on Tuesday night.

New York Rangers defenseman Adam Fox won the Norris.  Playing in his second NHL season, Fox ranked among the top defensemen in assists (1st; 42), points (2nd; 47), power-play assists (2nd; 21), takeaways (3rd; 38) and power-play points (3rd; 23) across 55 contests. Fox, who also placed seventh among all skaters in total time on ice (1,358:51) while recording a +19 rating, accumulated nearly half of his points during a 12-game streak from March 17 – April 8 (3-19—22), the fourth-longest by any player in 2020-21 and second-longest by a blueliner behind only Dougie Hamilton (14 GP w/ CAR). The 23-year-old Jericho, N.Y., native is the Rangers’ first Norris Trophy finalist since 1996-97, when Brian Leetch won the award for the second time (also 1991-92 w/ NYR), and is seeking to become the fourth player in franchise history to capture the trophy, after Leetch, Harry Howell (1966-67) and Doug Harvey (1961-62).

Washington Capitals defenseman John Carlson finished in 12th for the award after posting 10 goals, 44 points, and a -5 rating in 52 games while averaging a team-high 23:47, including 3:16 on the power play and 1:55 on the penalty kill this season. The 31-year-old recorded a 50.87% Corsi-for percentage, a 51.24% expected goals-for percentage, and a 50.55% scoring chances-for percentage at five-on-five.

Vegas Golden Knights goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury took home the first Vezina in his NHL career. Fleury, who combined with teammate Robin Lehner to capture the 2020-21 William M. Jennings Trophy, ranked third in the NHL in wins (26), goals-against average (1.98), save percentage% (.928), and shutouts (six) in 36 appearances.

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid won the Ted Lindsay and Hart Trophies. The 24-year-old played in all 56 of Edmonton’s regular-season games to help lead the Oilers to a second-place finish in the North Division. McDavid forward led the league in points (105) to win his third Art Ross Trophy, finishing 21 points ahead of the next highest scorer. He also paced all players in assists (72), points per game (1.88), power-play points (37) and even-strength points (68). McDavid recorded 33 multi-point games, and finished second in goals (33), game-winning goals (11) and even-strength goals (24). He averaged the second-highest time on ice per game (22:09) of his career – fourth among NHL forwards.

Minnesota Wild left wing Kirill Kaprizov was a near-unanimous winner of the Calder Trophy, receiving 99 of 100 first-place votes and one second-choice selection for 997 voting points. He attracted the highest percentage of first-place votes in Calder balloting since 1992-93, when Winnipeg Jets forward Teemu Selanne was the top choice on all 50 ballots after his record-breaking, 76-goal campaign. Dallas Stars forward Jason Robertson, named on all 100 ballots, ranked second to Kaprizov with 689 voting points, followed by Carolina Hurricanes goaltender Alex Nedeljkovic (386 points).

Kaprizov topped all NHL rookies and Wild skaters in goals (27) and points (51), helping Minnesota reach the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the eighth time in nine seasons. Only three other rookies since 1993-94 have led a team in points during the regular season, while also helping them qualify for the postseason: Auston Matthews (2016-17 with Toronto), Filip Forsberg (2014-15 with Nashville) and Trent Hunter (2003-04 with NY Islanders). Kaprizov also led all rookies in shots on goal (157), topped rookie forwards in average ice time (18:18) and ranked second in assists (24). Despite the shortened season he set several rookie franchise records, including goals, assists, points and power-play goals (8).

Washington Capitals goaltender Vitek Vanecek finished in sixth place in Calder Trophy voting after he went 21-10-4 with a .908 save percentage, a 2.69 goals-against average, and two shutouts.

Photo: NHL PR

By Harrison Brown

About Harrison Brown

Harrison is a diehard Caps fan and a hockey fanatic with a passion for sports writing. He attended his first game at age 8 and has been a season ticket holder since the 2010-2011 season. His fondest Caps memory was watching the Capitals hoist the Stanley Cup in Las Vegas. In his spare time, he enjoys travel, photography, and hanging out with his two dogs. Follow Harrison on Twitter @HarrisonB927077
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply