NHL To Announce Award Winners Throughout Conference Finals And Stanley Cup Final

The NHL announced on Saturday that it will begin revealing the winners of the 2020 NHL awards beginning this Sunday. The Capitals’ John Carlson is up for this years James Norris Memorial Trophy, which will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final.


NEW YORK (Sept. 5, 2020) – The National Hockey League announced today that it will reveal winners of 2020 NHL Awards presented by Las Vegas throughout the 2020 Conference Finals and 2020 Stanley Cup Final.

Beginning this Sunday, Sept. 6, NBC Sports, Sportsnet and TVA Sports will announce winners during their pregame windows for the 2020 Conference Finals. Those announcements will be followed by media availabilities with each winner during the first intermission of the respective games.

The daily schedule, which is outlined below (with finalists noted in parentheses), will culminate with a 30-minute program during the 2020 Stanley Cup Final that will reveal the winners of the five remaining awards: the Calder Memorial Trophy, Hart Memorial Trophy, James Norris Memorial Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Vezina Trophy. More details on that show will be shared in the coming weeks.

“Every year, we go to Las Vegas and the city is an incredible host for our NHL Awards show,” said NHL Chief Content Officer Steve Mayer. “This year we’ve decided to do it differently, but we are thrilled that Las Vegas has joined us to hand out eight straight days of awards during our broadcasts on national TV in the United States and Canada.”

“Las Vegas is delighted to once again play a part in celebrating the League’s best during the NHL Awards,” said Steve Hill, CEO/President of the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA). “The NHL Awards has grown into a phenomenal event, and while this year will look a little different, it’s an honor to present the awards throughout the 2020 Conference Finals and 2020 Stanley Cup Final.”

All dates below are subject to change. More details on each award/finalist can be found in the 2020 NHL Awards presented by Las Vegas Information Guide, which is available on the League’s Media site.

Sunday, Sept. 6

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (Matt Dumba, Henrik Lundqvist, P.K. Subban)

Monday, Sept. 7

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Stephen Johns, Oskar Lindblom, Bobby Ryan)

Tuesday, Sept. 8

Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award (Dampy Brar, Alexandria Briggs-Blake, John Haferman)

Wednesday, Sept. 9

Jack Adams Award (Bruce Cassidy, John Tortorella, Alain Vigneault)

Thursday, Sept. 10

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Patrice Bergeron, Sean Couturier, Ryan O’Reilly)

Friday, Sept. 11

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Nathan MacKinnon, Auston Matthews, Ryan O’Reilly)

Saturday, Sept. 12

Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award (Finalists TBA)

Sunday, Sept. 13

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award (No Finalists)

Show During 2020 Stanley Cup Final (Details TBA)

Calder Memorial Trophy (Quinn Hughes, Dominik Kubalik, Cale Makar)

Hart Memorial Trophy (Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin)

James Norris Memorial Trophy (John Carlson, Victor Hedman, Roman Josi)

Ted Lindsay Award (Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin)

Vezina Trophy (Connor Hellebuyck, Tuukka Rask, Andrei Vasilevskiy)

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply