Oskar Magnusson And Haakon Hanelt Faceoff In Final Game Of Preliminary Round Of 2022 World Junior Championship, Magnusson Named Player Of The Game For Sweden

Photos: IIHF

The two speedy wingers were working out together at the Washington Capitals development camp just three short weeks ago and ended the week-long camp as teammates for the prospect scrimmage. But on Monday night the Capitals’ prospects were on opposite sides in a battle of nations.

Monday night brought the conclusion of the first round of the 2022-23 World Junior Championship in Edmonton. The final game of the preliminary round featured Washington Capitals prospects Oskar Magnusson (Team Sweden) and Haakon Hanelt (Team Germany) going head-to-head. Sweden took the victory, 4-2.

Magnusson would grab the spotlight in the first period with a nice wrister that dented the twine. The tally gave Sweden a 3-1 lead heading into the first intermission.

Haakon Hanelt was more noticeable in the second period of the contest, and had this nice rush for a wrap-around attempt late in the middle frame.

Magnusson would win player of the game for Sweden. All “player of the game” winners receive a special hand painted stick created by a local indigenous artist.

Photo: IIHF

Both Capitals prospects will advance to the medal round, which begins on Wednesday.

MEDAL ROUND

After a day off on Tuesday the four quarter-final games will be played at Rogers Place in Edmonton on Wednesday:

  • Finland vs. Germany 10:00 (18:00 CET, 19:00 EET)
  • Sweden vs. Latvia 13:30 (21:30 CET, 22:30 EET)
  • Canada vs. Switzerland 17:00 (7pm ET, 4pm PT, 1:00 CET)
  • USA vs. Czechia 20:30 (10:30pm ET, 7:30pm PT, 4:30 CET)

The semi-finals will be played on Friday and be reseeded according to the following seeding based on the preliminary-round results: 1. Canada, 2. USA, 3. Sweden, 4. Finland, 5. Germany, 6. Latvia, 7. Czechia, 8. Switzerland.

Of the four remaining teams the best-ranked team will play against the lowest-ranked semi-finalist. The 2nd-best ranked semi-finalist will play the 3rd-best ranked semi-finalist. The host, if qualified, or otherwise the best-ranked semi-finalist according to aforementioned criteria, will play the early game.

The medal games will be played on Saturday, 20 August 2022.

By Jon Sorensen

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oskar Magnusson And Haakon Hanelt Faceoff In Final Game Of Preliminary Round Of 2022 World Junior Championship, Magnusson Named Player Of The Game For Sweden

  1. DWGie26 says:

    I watched this game last night. Thought Magnusson was noticeable all night. He plays a lot bigger than he is. Was into the nasty all night. I saw the goal but turned it off before seeing him get player of the game… that is cool!

    I thought Hanelt looked mostly lost and was turning in the wrong direction all of the time. Didn’t seem all that engaged.

    • Jon Sorensen says:

      Agree, not Hanelt’s best game of the tournament. He looked better in the second game. Still young, 19, and will hopefully play in the regularly scheduled 2023 WJC in December.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.