Candidate For Worst Blown Call Ever Made By A Hockey Offiical

Photo: The North Shore Record

The 14U championship held on April 5 in Chicago featured an apparent comeback victory for the Chicago Mission boys team, earning them the USA Hockey Tier 1 National Championship. The team (pictured above) celebrated their seventh title for Chicago Mission.

After falling behind 2-0, the Mission (green sweaters) raced back, scoring the last three goals of the game for the victory over Shattuck-St. Mary’s from Minnesota.

But was a third goal really scored? 

The call of the third goal for Mission confused the announcer, who (correctly) called the play a save by the goaltender, even from a significant distance away from the play.

A better view of the play would emerge on social media shortly after the game, clearly showing the goaltender making the save, and the official staring right at the play.

The replies to the tweet are well worth the read.

The Shattuck-St. Mary’s goaltender looks simply stunned and confused after the play was ruled a goal by the nearby official.

You almost have to laugh at how bad the call was, but then you are reminded that there are kids involved. You gotta feel bad for the kids from Shattuck-St. Mary’s. It cost them a championship.

USA Hockey has yet to comment on the controversial “goal.”

By Jon Sorensen

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Candidate For Worst Blown Call Ever Made By A Hockey Offiical

  1. Anonymous says:

    You wonder if there was a fix in on this game. Simply deplorable call.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Whiskey Tango Foxtrot!

  3. Anonymous says:

    If the puck was in the goalie glove, couldn’t he just hand the goalie the puck from the glove he made the save in?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.