NHL Division Names To Have Sponsors This Season

The NHL announced their four sponsors on the division names this season on Tuesday morning in an effort to make up for some revenue lost as they have only played games in August and September without fans since March 12, when the 2019-20 regular season stopped due to COVID-19.

The division consisting of all Canadian teams will be known as the Scotia NHL North Division. Teams in the western part of the United States will be in the Honda NHL West Division. Teams in the central will be in the Discover NHL Central Division and teams along the Atlantic coast will be in the MassMutual NHL East Division.

Most markets will start the 2020-21 season, which will begin on Wednesday, January 13, with no fans but a few teams like the Tampa Bay Lightning, Florida Panthers, Dallas Stars, Arizona Coyotes, and Nashville Predators will start with fans in a limited capacity.

Teams will only play opponents in their own division this season due to the border closure between the United States and Canada.

The NHL divisions will return to the way they were set up last season when the border opens up. Though the Coyotes will go to the Central Division and the Seattle Kraken, whose inaugural season is in 2021-22, will be in the Pacific Division.

By Harrison Brown

About Harrison Brown

Harrison is a diehard Caps fan and a hockey fanatic with a passion for sports writing. He attended his first game at age 8 and has been a season ticket holder since the 2010-2011 season. His fondest Caps memory was watching the Capitals hoist the Stanley Cup in Las Vegas. In his spare time, he enjoys travel, photography, and hanging out with his two dogs. Follow Harrison on Twitter @HarrisonB927077
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply