John Carlson Named To First All-Star Team

Moments after it was announced that Capitals defenseman John Carlson finished second to Predators Roman Josi in the 2020 Norris Trophy voting, the NHL announced that Carlson was selected to the league’s First All-Star Team.

Carlson joins Mike Green (2008-09, 2009-10), Scott Stevens (1987-88) and Rod Langway (1982-83, 1983-84) as the only defensemen in franchise history to be named to the NHL’s First All-Star Team.


EDMONTON (Sept. 21, 2020) – Edmonton Oilers center Leon Draisaitl, who earlier today captured the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP and Ted Lindsay Award for most outstanding player as selected by the players at the “2020 NHL Awards presented by Las Vegas,” heads the list of players voted to the 2019-20 NHL First All-Star Team.

Flanking Draisaitl as First Team forwards are Hart Trophy finalist Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers at left wing and Maurice Richard Trophy winner David Pastrnak of the Boston Bruins on right wing. The defensemen are Norris Trophy winner Roman Josi of the Nashville Predators and finalist John Carlson of the Washington Capitals. The goaltender is Vezina Trophy winner Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets.

All six members of the First Team are making their career debut on the squad for the first time since NHL postseason All-Star Team selection began in 1930-31. Panarin, Carlson and Hellebuyck had previously been voted to a Second Team.

Four of the six places on the Second Team are taken by Atlantic Division and 2020 Stanley Cup Playoff rivals Boston Bruins and Tampa Bay Lightning.

Bruins voted to the Second Team are goaltender Tuukka Rask, adding to his First Team berth in 2013-14, and left wing Brad Marchand, receiving his third career postseason All-Star nod (1 First Team, 2 Second Team). Lightning players on the Second Team are defenseman Victor Hedman and right wing Nikita Kucherov, both of whom are postseason All-Stars for the fourth time (Hedman, 1 First Team, 3 Second Team; Kucherov, 2 First Team, 2 Second Team).

Joining the Atlantic Division quartet is center Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche, voted to the Second Team for the second time, and defenseman Alex Pietrangelo of the St. Louis Blues, who landed a Second Team berth for the third time.

Voting for the All-Star Team was conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers Association after the conclusion of the regular season.

The complete list of NHL First and Second All-Star Team rosters by season since their inception in 1930-31 is available at the NHL’s official records site, The site also lists all-time and active leaders voted to the First and Second Teams by position.

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to John Carlson Named To First All-Star Team

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love the vote for Ovechkin on RW… (facepalm)

Leave a Reply