Islanders’ Lou Lamoriello Wins General Manager Of the Year; No Votes For Brian MacLellan

The NHL announced on Saturday evening that Lou Lamoriello of the New York Islanders has been selected as the 2020 recipient of the 2020 Jim Gregory General Manager of the year award. Washington Capitals General Manager Brian MacLellan received no votes.


EDMONTON (Sept. 12, 2020) – Lou Lamoriello of the New York Islanders is the 2019-20 recipient of the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award. Voting for this honor was conducted among NHL Club General Managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Lamoriello was named on 24 of 40 ballots, including a leading 11 first-place selections, for 86 voting points to top a close four-way race. Julien BriseBois of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars both received eight first-place votes in collecting 71 and 61 points for second and third place, respectively. They narrowly edged fourth-place Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche (five first-place votes, 60 points).

The Islanders have continued their upward trajectory in the second season under Lamoriello, who joined the team as President of Hockey Operations in May 2018 and was named GM the following month. After last season’s gains, which included a 23-point improvement, the League’s top defensive record and a playoff series win under new head coach Barry Trotz, the Islanders have built on that success this season by advancing to the Eastern Conference Final for the first time in 27 years. Lamoriello signed free agent goaltender Semyon Varlamov and forward Derick Brassard last summer, as well as re-signing several core forwards including captain Anders Lee, Anthony Beauvillier, Jordan Eberle and Brock Nelson. He later acquired defenseman Andy Greene and forward Jean-Gabriel Pageau in February prior to the trade deadline.

A three-time Stanley Cup champion and Hockey Hall of Fame inductee in the Builders Category in 2009, Lamoriello is in his 32nd season as an NHL general manager. He has claimed Jim Gregory honors in his first year as a finalist and is the first Islanders GM so recognized.

The NHL General Manager of the Year Award was first presented in 2009-10. It was renamed in 2019-20 in honor of Jim Gregory, the 2007 Hockey Hall of Fame inductee who served as Toronto Maple Leafs general manager and a League executive for four decades.

For more on the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award, including a list of past winners, click here.

2019-20 Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award Voting


1. Lou Lamoriello, NYI


2. Julien BriseBois, TBL


3. Jim Nill, DAL


4. Joe Sakic, COL


5. Kelly McCrimmon, VGK


6. Jim Benning, VAN


7. Chuck Fletcher, PHI


8. Jeff Gorton, NYR


9. Kevin Cheveldayoff, WPG


Don Sweeney, BOS


Don Waddell, CAR



* Points allocation: 5-3-1 (1st-2nd-3rd)

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply