NHL Will Release Awards Finalists Throughout Next Week

Photo: @Capitals

The NHL will release its awards finalists for the 2019-20 regular season throughout next week. However, the King Clancy (awarded to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community) Award finalists will not be ready yet, the Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award will be voted on after the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, and the Mark Messier Leadership Award will just have the winner announced.

The winners will be announced, tentatively, during the third round.

Four awards have already been secured. Edmonton Oilers center Leon Draisaitl won the Art Ross Trophy after leading the NHL with 110 points during the regular season. Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin and Boston Bruins forward David Pastrnak co-won the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy after co-leading the league with 48 goals. Bruins goaltenders Tuukka Rask and Jaroslav Halak co-won the William M. Jennings Award after allowing a combined 167 goals, the fewest in the NHL.

Below are the dates for the announcements of the award finalists:

The Ted Lindsay Award is awarded to the MVP voted by the players; the Jack Adams Award is given to the NHL’s coach of the year; the Calder Trophy is awarded to the NHL’s rookie of the year; the Lady Byng Trophy is awarded to the league’s most “gentlemanly” player; the Masterton Trophy is given to the player who showed the most perseverance this season; the Willie O’Ree Award is handed “to an individual who – through the game of hockey – has positively impacted his or her community, culture or society”; the Vezina Trophy is awarded to the NHL’s goalie of the year; the Norris Trophy is given to the NHL’s defenseman of the year; the Selke Trophy is awarded to the league’s best defensive forward in the past season; and the Hart Trophy is given to the NHL’s MVP.

By Harrison Brown

About Harrison Brown

Harrison is a diehard Caps fan and a hockey fanatic with a passion for sports writing. He attended his first game at age 8 and has been a season ticket holder since the 2010-2011 season. His fondest Caps memory was watching the Capitals hoist the Stanley Cup in Las Vegas. In his spare time, he enjoys travel, photography, and hanging out with his two dogs. Follow Harrison on Twitter @HarrisonB927077
This entry was posted in News, NHL, NHL Awards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply