2017-18 Capitals To Be Inducted Into Washington D.C. Sports Hall Of Fame

NHL.comPhoto: NHL.com

The 2017-18 Washington Capitals, who won their first Stanley Cup title in their 43-year history, will be inducted into the Washington D.C. Sports Hall of Fame at Nationals Park in a pregame ceremony before the MLB’s Washington Nationals take on the Atlanta Braves on Sunday, June 23 at 1:35 PM ET.

The 2017-18 Capitals were the first team to bring a championship to Washington since the NFL’s Washington Redskins won the Super Bowl in 1992 and to advance beyond the second round in any of the respective pro sports leagues since 1998, when they were swept by the Detroit Red Wings in the Stanley Cup Final.

More From The Nationals

Andrew Beyer, Tom Brown, Sasho Cirovski, Tom Dolan, Danny Ferry, Ray Flaherty, Charles Mann, Kevin Payne, Cathy Reese,

Allie Ritzenberg, and the 2017-18 Washington Capitals to be honored 

Ten new members and the first Team of Distinction of the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame will be honored during a pregame ceremony on Sunday, June 23 at Nationals Park, before the Nationals play the Atlanta Braves. The following honorees will be inducted:

o Andrew Beyer – covered horse racing for the Washington Post for four decades, created the Beyer Speed Figure

o Tom Brown – two-sport professional athlete, played with the Washington Senators and Washington Redskins

o Sasho Cirovski – winningest coach in U. of Maryland men’s soccer history, three-time NCAA champion

o Tom Dolan – two-time Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer (1996 and 2000) and former world record holder

o Danny Ferry – men’s basketball national player of the year at DeMatha Catholic High School and Duke University

o Ray Flaherty (1903-1994) – first head coach of the Washington Redskins, two-time NFL champion

o Charles Mann – two-time NFL Super Bowl champion during 11 seasons with the Washington Redskins

o Kevin Payne – first president and CEO of DC United and four-time MLS Cup champion

o Cathy Reese – three-time coach of the year with U. of Maryland women’s lacrosse, 12-time NCAA champion

o Allie Ritzenberg (1918-2018) – fixture of D.C.’s tennis community for nearly eight decades

o 2017-18 Washington Capitals – 2018 Stanley Cup champions, brought first NHL title to D.C.

The inductees were selected based on their outstanding accomplishments in the world of sports, thereby bringing honor and recognition to the nation’s capital. They join a select group of distinguished athletes, coaches, owners, executives, media members, contributors, and sports personalities in the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame, which was founded in 1980.

Each honoree will receive a Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame plaque commemorating their induction and their names will be added to the Hall of Fame display at Nationals Park, overlooking the left field concourse.

More information on the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame can be found at dcsportshall.com.

By Harrison Brown

About Harrison Brown

Harrison is a diehard Caps fan and a hockey fanatic with a passion for sports writing. He attended his first game at age 8 and has been a season ticket holder since the 2010-2011 season. His fondest Caps memory was watching the Capitals hoist the Stanley Cup in Las Vegas. In his spare time, he enjoys travel, photography, and hanging out with his two dogs. Follow Harrison on Twitter @HarrisonB927077
This entry was posted in Memorabilia, News, Washington Capitals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.