At 17:34 of the second period, Evgeni Malkin scored to give the Pittsburgh Penguins a 2-1 lead over the Washington Capitals in Game 4 of the Eastern Conference semifinals. Then came a review as to whether or not the puck crossed the line. The officials determined that it did and after the ref gave the goal signal, Capitals coach Barry Trotz challenged the play for goaltender interference.
uuuum what?!?! pic.twitter.com/TRle7Zm55U
— NHL on NBC (@NHLonNBCSports) May 4, 2018
As indicated in the replay, Patric Hornqvist started swinging his stick at Braden Holtby’s pads before he tangled with Brooks Orpik, leading to the Malkin goal. The officials ruled it no interference and the call stood.
After the game, Holtby told the media he believes Hornqvist interfered with him.
“Hornqvist was whacking my pad not even close to the puck. Not really sure why that’s allowed and then drives himself up in my hip so he can push up and defend the far side of the net,” Holtby said. “And to say Brooks (Orpik) cross-checked him, there was a lot before he even touched him. It’s frustrating because you don’t know what the call is, you don’t really know what’s allowed and not but you just fight through and it’s a play where if we want to be successful we must fight through that and make up for it with good things.”
The Capitals would go on to lose 3-1. With the series square at two, the best of seven is now a best of three beginning Saturday night in D.C.
“We just came up a little short tonight but we still have a good chance to come back to our rink for Game 5,” added Holtby.
By Michael Marzzacco