AHL Board Of Governors Annual Meeting Wraps Up In Hilton Head

Graphic: AHL

On Thursday, the American Hockey League’s (AHL) Board of Governors (BOG) wrapped-up their 2017 Annual Meeting that was held this week at Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. Here are a few of the highlights from the meeting.

The BOG agreed to commit to expanding the AHL to 31 teams by the 2018-2019 season. The commitment assures that all 31 NHL clubs will have a full primary affiliation in the AHL beginning with the 2018-2019 season.

General Proceedings
Teams will wear light jerseys at home until the Christmas break, and dark jerseys at home after the Christmas break.

The 2017-18 regular season will begin on October 6th and conclude on April 15th.

The full league schedule has been approved, and will be announced next week.

Teams will receive two points for a win and one point for an overtime or shootout loss. The top four teams in each division ranked by points percentage (points earned divided by points available) will qualify for the 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs.

The BOG approved continuance of the current playoff structure. The 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs will feature a divisional playoff format, leading to conference finals, and ultimately the Calder Cup Finals. The division semifinals are best-of-five series; all subsequent rounds are best-of-seven.

You can read the AHL’s full summary of the meetings here.

By Jon Sorensen

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply