Capitals Submit their Protected List Ahead of Expansion Draft


Hold your breath. The rumors and projections are now over and it’s official. Here are who the Capitals are going to protect for the upcoming expansion draft

Confirmed by Isabelle Khurshudyan of the Washington Post, the Capitals will protect Alex Ovechkin, Nicklas Backstrom, Evgeny Kuznetsov, Andre Burakovsky, Marcus Johansson, Lars Eller, Tom Wilson, Matt Niskanen, John Carlson, Dmitry Orlov, and Braden Holtby. In all that’s seven forwards, three defensemen, and one goalie.

All 29 other teams submitted their protected lists at 5 p.m. today and those will be revealed at 10 a.m. ET tomorrow. All rosters are now frozen with nobody allowed to make trades or re-sign any players until Thursday. The only team allowed to do so is the Vegas Golden Knights.

The players that will be exposed are as follows: Jay Beagle, Brett Connolly, Justin Williams, T.J. Oshie, Daniel Winnik, Tyler Graovac, Nate Schmidt, Brooks Orpik, Karl Alzner, Kevin Shattenkirk, Taylor Chorney, and Philipp Grubauer.

By Michael Marzzacco

Who will it be?

A post shared by NoVa Caps (@nova_caps) on

About Michael Marzzacco

Michael is an avid DC sports fan with a passion for writing. He has followed the Washington Capitals since the 2003-04 season, around the time his enthusiasm for DC teams really began. It was from the days when they had the worst record in the league to when they became the most exciting team in the area. His Dad took him to his first Caps game a couple of years later. One of his favorite memories was being in the stands during the 2015 Winter Classic where Troy Brouwer scored the game-winning goal with 12 seconds left. Michael graduated from Radford University in May 2016, earning a degree in journalism and focusing on sports journalism and broadcasting. His goal is to work in sports media in Washington, D.C.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Capitals Submit their Protected List Ahead of Expansion Draft

  1. Charlotte says:

    No Oshie ☹️


  2. Anonymous says:



  3. Anonymous says:

    Fuck fuck and fuck Wilson over oshie?


  4. Pingback: What Might the Vegas Golden Knights’ Inaugural Roster Look Like? | NoVa Caps

  5. Pingback: Ross Mahoney Weighs In On The Expansion Draft and Prospects | NoVa Caps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s