NHL Awards – A Look at the Voting


NoVa Caps takes a closer look at the voting for each of the NHL awards. Some of the results could leave Capitals fans scratching their heads.

The Capitals Braden Holtby won the Vezina Trophy by a wide margin:


Washington Capitals Head Coach Barry Trotz won the Jack Adams by a fair margin. Pittsburgh Penguins Head Coach Mike Sullivan came in 5th:


Capitals defensemen did not receive a single vote for the Norris Trophy:


Capitals General Manager Brian MacLellan came in a distant second for GM of the year:


Braden Holtby came in 4th in the Hart Trophy voting (MVP). Alex Ovechkin came in 6th in voting. Evgeny Kuznetsov came in 19th.


Some odds and ends from the voting:




About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His interest in the Caps has grown over the decades and included time as a season ticket holder. He has been a journalist covering the team for 10+ years, primarily focusing on analysis, analytics and prospect development.
This entry was posted in News, NHL Awards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NHL Awards – A Look at the Voting

  1. jonmsorensen says:

    Ovi getting votes for RW says a lot about the voting, and how much attention is being paid to actual results on the ice.

  2. James George says:

    This was the worst NHL awards I’ve ever seen and certainly disappointed in how they determined who won these awards absolutely ridiculous losing hope in the system needs to be a big change.

  3. I cannot believe these results, they are insulting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.