Trotz Reveals Joel Ward’s “No-Goal” call in Game 5 was Reviewed at Recent NHL Meetings

wardnogoal
(Photo: Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports)

In a speech to the National Pres Club today, Capitals Head Coach Barry Trotz revealed  that during recent NHL meetings the league reviewed the Joel Ward “No Goal” call that came in game 5 of the second round series against the Rangers.  All 30 NHL head coaches reviewed the controversial play and all 30 head coaches voted that it was a good goal.  Yes all 30.  That means that even the Rangers voted it should have been a good goal.  Let’s (painfully) refresh our memory:

The review of the play was part of discussions that led up to development of a new “Coaches Challenge” rule that was subsequently approved by the league.  As you may recall, the Capitals were leading the series 3 games to 1 and looking to close out the Rangers, and the series.  As we all know now, the Capitals could have used the goal.

A tweet from Washington Post reporter, Alex Prewitt:

Trotz_Review_Comment_Prewitt_Tweet

The video of the speech. Trotz discusses this issue at the 52:40 mark the video.

About Jon Sorensen

Jon has been a Caps fan since day one, attending his first game at the Capital Centre in 1974. His passion for the Caps has grown over the decades, which has included time as a season ticket holder, social media and community organizer, and most recently led to the founding of NoVa Caps in 2014. Jon earned a Bachelor's of Science in Engineering at Old Dominion University, and is a Systems Engineer during intermissions, which has been instrumental in supporting his Capitals habit.
This entry was posted in Barry Trotz, Coach, Coaching, News, NHL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Trotz Reveals Joel Ward’s “No-Goal” call in Game 5 was Reviewed at Recent NHL Meetings

  1. Anonymous says:

    The entire series the referee’s kept turning the other way and the Rangers did a lot of nasty things that should have been penalties. The NBCSN host Mike was not unbiased and clearly sided with the Rangers crying the Caps hit to hard.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Fuck these refs. Fucking pathetic sacks of shit.

  3. Scott Worth says:

    If you guys really knew anything about ice hockey you would see that Ward makes contact with Henrik impeading his ability to move to the puck way before it gets too the goal….. This was clearly Goaltender interference………. your making this call soley cause your team lost…….

    • jonmsorensen says:

      Read the article. Even your own coach ruled it a good goal during review at recent NHL meetings. Read!

      • Scott Worth says:

        I question the whole article. I don’t think it was reported correctly. There is no way all 30 voted the same….. I think the reply was used to try to get this type of play reviewable and they all voted to make this type of play reviewable. But I do not believe that they all voted that this was a good goal cause it clearly wasn’t a good goal……..

      • jonmsorensen says:

        Watch the video of Trotz, Also linked in the article. Just because you don’t like the results, doesnt mean it isn’t true.

    • Anonymous says:

      Let’s just get this out there that you’re an idiot. And on to the actual play, if you push the opposing player into your goalie like it clearly was here, thats your own damn fault and the goal was a good goal no matter how you look at it. Even Ray Charles would’ve been able to see it was good.

    • kenny says:

      Scott. If all 30 coaches agree it was a good goal, i kind of believe them over you. 1) they are more experienced than you. 2) it was a good goal. 3) 30 coaches X An average of 10 yrs experience =300 yrs + experience. You probably =0! Case closed.

    • Anonymous says:

      This from the NHL rulebook: “Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.”

      “If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.“

      A couple of things we know from the replay of Matt Niskanen’s/Joel Ward’s disallowed goal: 1) Ward was completely outside the crease, which can plainly be seen in the photo above . 2) Henrik Lundqvist was at least partially (mostly by the above photo) outside the crease. 3) Ward was sandwiched between Lundqvist and Derek Stepan, who, by accident or not, made contact with Ward knocking him into the NYR goaltender. The above photo shows Stepan clearly making contact.

      So based on the NHL rulebook, this was a good goal. Period.
      Of course, the action happened so fast and it was not reviewable. the refs would have had to be in perfect position to process all the variables at that speed; but they were not in the best position. The Capitals should have had a 2-0 lead after this play.

      Stepan is not stupid; he knows the puck is past him and that by pushing Ward he potentially creates the scenario that happened at virtually NO risk. It worked. It was the wrong call.

      • Anonymous says:

        By the way, I am NOT the same ‘anonymous” that posted the other comments. the above is my first post in this discussion.

    • Jonathan says:

      This from the NHL rulebook: “Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.”

      “If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.“

      A couple of things we know from the replay of Matt Niskanen’s/Joel Ward’s disallowed goal: 1) Ward was completely outside the crease, which can plainly be seen in the photo above . 2) Henrik Lundqvist was at least partially (mostly by the above photo) outside the crease. 3) Ward was sandwiched between Lundqvist and Derek Stepan, who, by accident or not, made contact with Ward knocking him into the NYR goaltender. The above photo shows Stepan clearly making contact.

      So based on the NHL rulebook, this was a good goal. Period.
      Of course, the action happened so fast and it was not reviewable. the refs would have had to be in perfect position to process all the variables at that speed; but they were not in the best position. The Capitals should have had a 2-0 lead after this play.

      Stepan is not stupid; he knows the puck is past him and that by pushing Ward he potentially creates the scenario that happened at virtually NO risk. It worked. It was the wrong call.

      {I originally posted this as “Anonymous” but wanted to differentiate my comment from the other “Anonymous” posts, which are not mine}.

    • Anonymous says:

      Lundqvist came out of his crease, I’m pretty sure it’s not goalie interference unless it’s in the blue paint.

  4. El Capital says:

    The rules clearly state that if the player attempts to avoid the goalie and that goalie is out of the crease when the puck comes into play there is no goalie interference. Plus Ward was shoved into the goalie.

  5. Pingback: Rule Changes for the Upcoming 2015-2016 NHL Season | NoVa Caps – A Washington Capitals Community

  6. Diego says:

    Before getting the car repaired anyplace, examine their website first.

  7. Pingback: Caps Run Into Familiar Foe – Goaltender Interference Call | Washington Capitals News | NoVa Caps

  8. Pingback: Top 5 Free Agent Signings in Franchise History: No. 1 | Washington Capitals News | NoVa Caps

Leave a Reply